I read, I like, I share (6) : Antoine de Saint Exupéry

“But what a strange lesson in geography I was given!  Gillaumet did not teach Spain to me, he made the country my friend…. he spoke of three orange trees on the edge of the town: ‘beware of those trees.  Better mark them on the map’.  And those three orange trees seemed to me thenceforth higher than the Sierra Nevada.

…..a humble farm… a living farm with its farmer and the farmer’s wife.  And this tiny, this remote couple, living a thousand miles from where we sat, took on a universal importance. Settled on the slope of a mountain, they watched like lighthouse keepers beneath the stars, ever on the lookout to succour men.

…..that brook nourishing a mere score or two of flowers?  ‘Careful of that brook: it breaks up the whole field.  Mark it on your map’.  

‘You think the meadow empty, and suddenly bang! there are thirty sheep in your wheels’.  An astounded smile was all I could summon in the face of so cruel a threat.

Little by little, under the lamp, the Spain of my map became a sort of fairyland.  The crosses I marked to indicate safety zones and traps were so many buoys and beacons.  I charted the farmer, the thirty sheep, the brook.  And, exactly where she stood, I set a buoy to mark the shepherdess forgotten by the geographers.”

— Antoine de Saint Exupery : Wind, Sand and Stars

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thought of the day :

Have you ever been on the lookout for a life mentor?  To teach you to see with your heart, not just with your eyes?   So that you would be kinder, to yourself, and the world around you.

Leave a Reply

