GOYA

I didn’t know that they had moved the goal posts.  After having my super special chestnut cream birthday cake two weeks ago, I took it for granted that I am now eligible for a free bus pass.  Not that I care.  I ain’t going anywhere.  But that signifies a definitive phase of life, a proud announcement even the standup comedians love to make a song and dance about.  Then I found out  the law has changed.  The government has an online calculator to help people determine the exact date.  I still have another 2 years, 7 months and 25 days to wait.  How disappointing.  Now I wonder what the comedians will have to say.

Don’t blame me for staying put, and not venturing out.  I am living in my comfort zone, have no intention of leaving it any time soon.  Before doing anything, going anywhere, I need to know when, where, how.  Completely taking the fun out of it.   I know.   But then again, I already have my fair share of adventure in my youthful days.   18 days Outward Bound Course on a sailing boat to the Philippines; 40 days on a Eurail Pass travelling across the Continent; and a lifelong commitment leaving friends and family behind to build a home across the miles on the green and pleasant Land.  So, there.

There is no excuse, though, for not doing anything with a bit of wind, rain and snow.   Or anticipated hassles. 

Define hassles.
–  Out of the way route;
–  Traffic jam;
–  Too busy on a school holiday…….

Sound lame, doesn’t it?  For not engaging in life any more.  Not taking interest in, what, just about everything.  How does this happen?   When and where does the youthful spirit get lost on the way?  Been there, done that, got the T-shirt.  Really?  Just sit here with a cup of tea?

Maybe I’ll go to the library to look for that motivational book: Get Off Your Arse (GOYA), highest rated on Amazon in 2009.  I don’t think they have it in large print.  But with my eyes hopefully improving, I could  find some enlightenment while waiting for the free bus pass to arrive.

Leave a Reply

